Trees Are Lonely CompanyFront Cover

ISBN: 9780889223271 | paperback / softback

$24.95 | 320 pages | Pub. Date: 1993
6.00 W × 9.00 H × 1 D inches
Fiction | Backlist | Bisac: FIC029000
ISBN 13: 9780889223271 | Rights: WORLD

Available for the first time in one volume, Trees Are Lonely Company is a collection of Howard O’Hagan’s short stories previously published to critical acclaim in The Woman Who Got on at Jasper Station & Other Stories and Wilderness Men.

spanning decades of O’Hagan’s experience—as mountain guide, gentleman adventurer and storyteller—this collection of tales include A Mountain Journey, The Man Who Walked Naked Across Montana, Grey Owl, The Warning and The Little Bear That Climbs Trees. The title story, Trees Are Lonely Company, was awarded the President’s Medal of the University of Western Ontario in 1959 for best short story of the year.

As in his classic novel, Tay John, O’Hagan’s characters in these stories are formed by and emerge from the life-force of the landscapes they inhabit—emblematic of a continent emerging into history.

This collection serves to commemorate the life’s work of one of Canada’s most passionately imaginative writers.

By Howard O'Hagan

Sophie Bienvenu is a Québécois writer. After studying visual communication in Paris, she settled in Quebec in 2001 and quickly established herself as a successful blogger. Et au pire, on se mariera (La Mèche) her first novel, was followed by Chercher Sam (translation forthcoming from Talonbooks, 2019), and Autour d’elle, translated as Around Her by Rhonda Mullins (Talonbooks, 2018). Ceci n’est pas de l’amour (This Is Not Love) was her first poetry collection, published in 2016 by Poètes de brousse. Bienvenu’s writing takes its readers on an emotional journey, an intense exploration of profoundly human characters, transforming the ordinary into the extraordinary.

Read more about Howard O'Hagan

Access Onix Code

OtherText Code 08: