Trees Are Lonely Company Front Cover

Paperback / softback
ISBN: 9780889223271
Pages: 320
Pub. Date: January 1 1993
Dimensions: 8.5" x 5.5" x 0.9375"
Rights: Available: WORLD
Non-Fiction / NAT041000

  • FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
  • TRAVEL / Special Interest / Adventure
  • NATURE / Ecosystems & Habitats / Mountains

     Shop local bookstores

Trees Are Lonely Company

By Howard O’Hagan

Available for the first time in one volume, Trees Are Lonely Company is a collection of Howard O’Hagan’s short stories previously published to critical acclaim in The Woman Who Got on at Jasper Station & Other Stories and Wilderness Men.

spanning decades of O’Hagan’s experience—as mountain guide, gentleman adventurer and storyteller—this collection of tales include A Mountain Journey, The Man Who Walked Naked Across Montana, Grey Owl, The Warning and The Little Bear That Climbs Trees. The title story, Trees Are Lonely Company, was awarded the President’s Medal of the University of Western Ontario in 1959 for best short story of the year.

As in his classic novel, Tay John, O’Hagan’s characters in these stories are formed by and emerge from the life-force of the landscapes they inhabit—emblematic of a continent emerging into history.

This collection serves to commemorate the life’s work of one of Canada’s most passionately imaginative writers.