talonbooks.com
 

Email: info@talonbooks.com
Telephone: 604 444-4889
Outside Vancouver: 1 888 445-4176
Fax: 604 444-4119

 

BY THIS AUTHOR 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
PURCHASE BOOKS HERE
The Pagan Wall
Print Edition
Canadian Customers

$24.95 CDN


US & International Customers

$19.95 US

Payments processed by PayPal


Sunday March 28, 2010 in Books

The Pagan Wall

By David Arnason

Written in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Manuel Puig, The Pagan Wall is a first novel by a master storyteller. What appears on the surface as a murder mystery set in Alsatia and the Rhineland, involving international arms dealers, dangerous liaisons, and every other known mystery novel archetype, The Pagan Wall unfolds into layer upon layer of meanings, reversals, historical shifts, philosophical conundrums and linguistic puzzles. Filled with police inspectors quoting Lacan, the appearance of Martin Heidegger as a character, and whole passages of translated epistemology woven into the dialogue, Arnason’s narrative disguises are so seamlessly accomplished that all readers, whether ardent mystery genre fans or exotic deconstructionists, will believe this story to be specifically written for them.

ISBN 13: 9780889223127 | ISBN 10: 889223122
6 W x 9 H x 1 D inches | 304 pages
$24.95 CAN / $19.95 US
Rights: World
Backlist | Fiction | Bisac: FIC019000

QUOTES OF NOTE

If this is the overture, you can’t even imagine what he may eventually do for a finale.
— John Moore

About the Contributors

David Arnason

David Arnason was born in Gimli, Manitoba, in 1940. His works include two collections of poetry, Marsh Burning and Skrag, and four collections of short stories: Fifty Stories and a Piece of Advice, The Circus Performer’s Bar, The Happiest Man in the World and The Pagan Wall.

9780889223127sm
The Pagan Wall

David Arnason
Fiction

9780889222694sm
The Happiest Man in the World and Other Stories

David Arnason
Fiction

9780889222182sm
The Circus Performers' Bar

David Arnason
Fiction


Copyright Talonbooks 1963-2017

 

 

We gratefully acknowledge the financial support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund (CBF); and the Province of British Columbia through the British Columbia Arts Council for our publishing activities.


If you have any questions or comments about this website, contact the webmaster.