Gypsy GuitarFront Cover

ISBN: 9780889222502 | paperback / softback

$18.95 | 112 pages | Pub. Date: 1987
7.00 W × 11.00 H × 0.4 D inches
Poetry | Backlist | Bisac: POE011000
ISBN 13: 9780889222502 | Rights: WORLD

David McFadden has set for himself, in this sequence of one hundred poems, a task both breathtaking in its scope and stunning in its accomplishment. By echoing with his gypsy guitar the troubadour tradition of the Languedoc, the great sonnet sequences of Petrarch and Shakespeare, the redefinitions of beauty and truth of the romantics, and the distractions and fragments of the post-moderns, he has created a celebration of the beloved in which recognition, intelligence and wit illuminate each sentimental, awkward, humorous, everyday moment. The elements of romance and betrayal in these poems shine through the darkness of their passion with a lucid, conscious attentiveness seldom seen since the great renaissance poets.

By David W. McFadden

Sophie Bienvenu is a Québécois writer. After studying visual communication in Paris, she settled in Quebec in 2001 and quickly established herself as a successful blogger. Et au pire, on se mariera (La Mèche) her first novel, was followed by Chercher Sam (translation forthcoming from Talonbooks, 2019), and Autour d’elle, translated as Around Her by Rhonda Mullins (Talonbooks, 2018). Ceci n’est pas de l’amour (This Is Not Love) was her first poetry collection, published in 2016 by Poètes de brousse. Bienvenu’s writing takes its readers on an emotional journey, an intense exploration of profoundly human characters, transforming the ordinary into the extraordinary.

Read more about David W. McFadden

Access Onix Code

OtherText Code 08:

news | 2018-06-07
David McFadden (1940–2018)

…Great Lakes Suite, There’ll Be Another, and Gypsy Guitar. David was a three-time Governor General’s … Award nominee: Gypsy Guitar received a 1988 nomination, alongside The Art of …