news | Tuesday June 28, 2016

Tomorrow night, the 2016 Woodcock and Ryga Awards will be presented

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Jeannette Armstrong will receive the $5,000 George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement Award at the Vancouver Public Library’s main branch on June 29, 2016 at 7 p.m. becoming the first First Nation author to receive the province’s most prestigious literary prize in the 23-year history of the event. A permanent plaque of BC marble honouring Armstrong will be installed in the library’s Woodcock Walk of Fame, and the City of Vancouver will program BC Author Appreciation Day in her honour.

On the same night, Andrew MacLeod, legislative bureau chief for The Tyee, will receive the George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in Literature. The George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in Literature is awarded annually to a BC writer who has achieved an outstanding degree of social awareness in a book published in the preceding calendar year.

Attend the Awards presentation at the Vancouver Public Library: Wednesday, June 29, 2016 at 7 p.m. in the Alice MacKay Room of the central branch in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. More information available here.

News Archive