news | Wednesday March 12, 2014

BC Book Prizes 2014 Shortlists Announced!

The 2014 BC Book Prizes shortlist has just been announced! Talonbooks is happy to congratulate two of its authors, both from First Nations backgrounds, on making the list: Chief Bev Sellars, whose memoir, They Called Me Number One, has been shortlisted for the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize (awarded for best original work of literary non-fiction); and poet Jordan Abel, whose book, The Place of Scraps, has been shortlisted for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize (awarded for best work of poetry). These are both authors’ first books.

The full shortlists for these two prizes in particular are as follows:

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize:

  • Arno Kopecky, The Oil Man and the Sea: Navigating the Northern Gateway
    (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Bev Sellars, They Called Me Number One: Secrets and Survival at an Indian Residential School (Talonbooks)
  • Jane Silcott, Everything Rustles (Anvil Press)
  • David Stouck, Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life (Douglas & McIntyre)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize:

  • Jordan Abel, The Place of Scraps (Talonbooks)
  • Jennica Harper, Wood (Anvil Press)
  • Russell Thornton, Birds, Metals, Stones and Rain (Harbour Publishing)

The winners are presented annually at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala in May. Read about past winners and follow this year’s prizes on the BC Book Prizes website.

News Archive