The Circus Performers' BarFront Cover

ISBN: 9780889222182 | Paperback

160 pages | Pub. Date: 19840101
6.00 W × 9.00 H × 0.5 D inches
Backlist | Fiction | Bisac: FIC029000
Rights: WORLD

The Circus Performers’ Bar is a second collection of finely crafted stories by David Arnason, written in every conceivable style: the urbane New Yorker story, the fireside chat, the war correspondent’s report, the poignant personal memoir and the hysterical small-town gossip. Hilarious role reversals and role substitutions provide the context through which a male neo-consciousness takes shape in a world dominated by the feminist vision. Various adorations of Snow White by her seven dwarves and the de-fanging of the wolf by Little Red Riding Hood are guaranteed to leave the reader choking with laughter and howling far into the night. Each story constitutes a new search for competence in a world where innate ability may have become historically déclassé, and laboriously-acquired facility may lead only to seasickness.

“This is a clever, trenchant stuff, by a master of the art.”
Globe & Mail

By David Arnason

David Arnason was born in Gimli, Manitoba, in 1940. His works include two collections of poetry, Marsh Burning and Skrag, and four collections of short stories: Fifty Stories and a Piece of Advice, The Circus Performer’s Bar, The Happiest Man in the World and The Pagan Wall.

Read more about David Arnason

Access Onix Code

OtherText Code 08: