Down the Road to EternityFront Cover
  • View Cart
  • $19.95 | $14.96 | 25% off

    ISBN: 9780889226159 | Paperback

    288 pages | Pub. Date: 20090724
    5.50 W × 8.50 H × 0.48 D inches
    Backlist | Fiction | Bisac: FIC029000
    Rights: WORLD

Down the Road to Eternity
New & Selected Fiction
By M.A.C. Farrant
Edited by Karl Siegler

Down the Road to Eternity: New & Selected Fiction is a collection of M.A.C. Farrant’s work dating from 1985 to 2009. Compiled of selected fiction from Sick Pigeon (1991), Raw Material (1993), Altered Statements (1995), Word of Mouth (1996), What’s True, Darling (1997), Darwin Alone in the Universe (2003) and The Breakdown So Far (2007), it includes her complete new suite of 18 stories, The North Pole, where our individual existence is bludgeoned by the threat of “end times”—climate change, species extinction, pandemics and really bad politics. Each of these stories is an ongoing instance of the author’s attempt at understanding language ironically, a search for the strikingly sublime in the awesomely absurd.

Objective reality in our culture has become a corporate performance of make-believe, and the disassociation and confusion this causes in our private lives often triggers uncontrollable tragi-comic effects in Farrant’s characters—a vacuous lethargy and/or a destructive violence they act out in a context of the most excruciatingly bright banalities imaginable.

Satiric and philosophical in approach, indelibly marked by wit, humour, irony, playfulness, a blend of parody and science fiction, irreverent analysis and comic existentialism, these stories celebrate the literary imagination as an antidote to the stranglehold the popular media now has on the public’s imagination. Yet as in all such relentlessly absurdist dystopian social parodies, there resides behind each of these brief entertainments a stifled scream for help, a trapped yearning for the awe and wonder of what we have become estranged from, an arrested lust for meaning.

Unsparing in her critique of the branded New Age syncretism our global culture has substituted for authentic human emotion and particular belief, these hilariously off-side stories navigate Farrant’s exploration of the relation of fiction to the evolving construction of reality in our media and information age.

“M.A.C. Farrant is a trapeze artist of the imagination, swinging over the existential void.”
BC Bookworld

By M.A.C. Farrant

M.A.C. Farrant is the author of sixteen books: thirteen collections of satirical and philosophical short fiction; one novel, The Strange Truth About Us; a novel-length memoir, My Turquoise Years; a book of humorous essays, The Secret Lives of Litterbugs; and the stage adaptation of My Turquoise Years, which premiered at Vancouver’s Arts Club Theatre in 2013.

Read more about M.A.C. Farrant

Edited by Karl Siegler

Karl Siegler is a member of the Order of Canada and was the long-time publisher of Talonbooks.

Read more about Karl Siegler

Access Onix Code

OtherText Code 08:

news | 2014-03-25
Spring Specials! A Brilliant Play & A Bundle of Farrant

…Truth About Us (“a novel of absence”), and Down the Road to Eternity (a collection of short fiction) – a regular value …

news | 2011-03-11
M.A.C. Farrant is at the Campbell River Writer's Festival

…finalist for the 2010 Victoria Butler Book Prize. Down the Road to Eternity: New & Selected Fiction appeared in 2009 and …

news | 2010-12-02
Christmas Cheer from M.A.C. Farrant!

…2010 Christmas Guide, taken from her book Down the Road to Eternity: Jesus Loves Me But He Can’t Stand You * …

news | 2010-09-14
Our Anthropologist of the Absurd

…only about her characters but about ourselves. Down the Road to Eternity, incidentally the collection Farrant is most …