Willful Acts Front Cover

Paperback / softback
ISBN: 9780889223851
Pages: 256
Pub. Date: January 1 1998
Dimensions: 9" x 6" x 0.625"
Rights: Available: WORLD
Drama / DRA013000

  • POETRY / Canadian
  • POETRY / Subjects & Themes / Places
  • POETRY / Women Authors
  • DRAMA / Canadian
  • LITERARY CRITICISM / Books & Reading
  • FICTION / Literary
  • POETRY / American / Native American
  • DRAMA / Indigenous Peoples in the Americas
  • DRAMA / Women Authors
  • HISTORY / Canada / General
  • PERFORMING ARTS / Theater / Stagecraft & Scenography
  • DRAMA / Cana

     Shop local bookstores

Willful Acts

By Margaret Hollingsworth

Willful Acts is an expanded and updated collection of Margaret Hollingsworth’s best-known and most popular plays, including The Apple in the Eye, Everloving, Diving, Islands, and War Babies (nominated for a Governor General’s Award); along with her latest play, Commonwealth Games. Hollingsworth’s earlier work showcases recurring women’s issues and themes (Islands was among the first plays to put lesbian characters front and centre on the Canadian stage). In her new play, Commonwealth Games, Hollingsworth wrestles with the question of what it means to be an English immigrant to Canada at a time when post-colonial thinking and political correctness dominate our lives.